The leap of faith

‘Let’s do it’, she said.

He stared at her, bewildered. If there was anyone who could suggest something so silly, so impulsive, it was she.

 ‘No way, you’ve lost your mind.’

 Her face fell.

 ‘So many people do! It’s not that big a deal anymore. Why do we have to be the good ones always? Besides, no one needs to know right?’

 He shook his head. ‘No. I am not ok with this at all. You just don’t do these things one fine day because everyone else has. It is not a joke. There is a time and place for everything. Besides I don’t want the first time to be here.’

 ‘You’re a prude, you realise? I cannot believe that a girl has to coax you into something like this! I am so sure anyone else would have been all set at once.’

 He looked hurt. ‘I’m not being a prude, I am just being sensible. You’re all okay now, and if something goes wrong, you’ll be the first one to say that I should have stopped you.’

She pouted. That was true. ‘Ok, I will be honest, it’s not that I am not scared, but I know for a fact that it cannot be that wrong if it is with you.’

 He melted a little, but maintained his stance. ‘No means no.’

 She turned away. Silence followed.

 ‘You are such a spoilsport.’

 He refused to respond.

 She turned back slowly. ‘We’ll be very careful. Nothing can go wrong. Trust me. It’s us we’re talking about!’

 He sighed, giving up. ‘Ok. Fine. You always have to have it your way. In any case,  at least let me arrange for some protection? And God knows where I will find a store around here.’

 ‘Emotional blackmail, always works with this guy!’, she thought, grinning to herself  a whole 2 hours later, as they jumped into the murky, moss filled pool of water for their first swim ever, life jackets fastened securely.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

PS: If  it reminds you of a certain scene from Jab we met, well, same pinch.

33 thoughts on “The leap of faith

  1. What melodrama!! :D
    Never heard of life jackets near a moss filled pool of water :) Looks like a “What epic fun” moment!

    Btw what have you done to your blog? Everything looks so big! Header is awesomeness.

  2. eschris says:

    I got it all wrong… booo hooo.. :(

    This is like the dentist story.. :D .. Lovely post.. first time.. ping your blog..

  3. Jupe says:

    I thought I got it but then it looks like i really didn’t… me was guessing snorkeling :)

    Btw, is it only me or did anybody else notice the sly wordplay in the movie title in PS…or again, was it just a typo :-p

  4. I knew it wasn’t what it seemed like :D Thought you bungee jumped. :D
    And many people have jumped into a murky moss filled pool of water? Now I feel left out!

    • DI says:

      Ok, confession. I haven’t, this be fiction :)

      Btw, it is quite sad that people assumed that it couldn’t be what it looked like. I mean, I would too if I knew my regular writing, but still! :( Very sad.

  5. Rahmat says:

    hey boss! Came across this Amazon forum(gold box forum) where you post 3 words with 3 letters from the alphabet and the next guy uses the next 3 letters and so on. Idea is to make it as meaningful as possible. check what i came up with:

    A Beautiful & Charismatic Diana, Ever Forlorn, Gives-up Her Identity,
    Just Keeping Love, Makes New Objectives, Powerful Queen & Royalty Strike
    To Undercut Very Wonderful eXquisite Young Zest.

    Zillion Years eXpire, Without Vision Ultimate, Then Somebody’s Research Questions People’s Opinions.
    Nullifying Mindless Literacy, Killing Justifications Inept & Harmful, Galileo Found Earth Does Circle – Bonafide Achievement.
    Thought of emailing you. But am not getting any replies. :(

Leave a Reply

