Salvation of a Saint – Book Review

Ok, Please don’t faint. I know I just posted 2 days ago, but there is a reason behind this post. Let’s start with some background. Those of you who have been reading me for a while, know that I do not read anymore. ‘How I wasted my Library membership last year’ is a theory The Dude uses liberally to annoy me. In any case, I have come to realise that if I do not finish a book (on an average of about 500 pages) in 4-5 days, I will never finish it.

Which is the reason why I applied for this book by Keigo Higashino on the Blogadda programme with some apprehension. Because I can give you readers these amazing excuses, but I am not sure they would accept if I said, ‘Er, well, see, since I could not finish it in the first 5 days, I did not even give it a shot post that. Can this be my review?” No sir, they are pretty serious about their 7 day deadline, and today, is day 7.

And guess what. I finished the book in 3 days. Whoosh, just like that. That would be my conclusion on the book’s USP. From start to stop, you do not want to put it down. In fact, on night two, I put it down only because The Dude found the reading light annoying, which is downright mean, but I decided to indulge him.

Anyway, back to the book, I guess I did not expect anything lesser, since this was of one of the best genres in my opinion, a suspense thriller, a who-dun-it, and by an author who had given a much acclaimed book ‘Devotion of Suspect X’ before this, only I hadn’t read it. But I had dependable sources tell me it was good.

This story, based in Japan, starts with the sudden death of a businessman of poisoning. The immediate suspect is his very attractive wife, given the situation. A couple of detectives are involved in the case,  one of who ends up getting attracted to the wife, which impacts the way he handles the details. The story moves fast, details getting added in every chapter, making it more and more interesting. And at one point, quite early on, it moves  from the ‘Who did it’ aspect to the ‘How was it done’ aspect, which remains a mystery till the end., and is closely entwined with the ‘Why did they do it’ aspect as well.

In one word, ‘Unputdownable’. Fast paced, easy to read, well written, and the characters were interesting. But  I would not call it the best suspense thriller I have ever read, mainly because I attribute the awesomeness of a thriller, to the extent to which it surprises me, especially in the end. And I have to admit, here, I had conclusions and climaxed forming in my head by the time I was halfway through the book, and one of the few turned out almost correct. This, to some extent reduced the extent to which I was impressed.

But to be fair, this never stopped me from wanting to go on, even if it was 1 in the night, which is big, considering the hours of sleep I get are now dependent on multiple factors, and I cannot afford to play around with anything that is given to me. Other than that, Japanese names are not the easiest to remember, so at one point, I was wondering why one of the suspects was roaming around with the detective gang, which I later realized was because I had her name confused with another detective’s name.

So will I recommend this book to you? Yes, if you’re into murder mysteries, and fast reads. Will I read any other offering by this author? Yes, I am going to pick up the first one now. Will I give it a rating or stars? No, because I do not know how to do it and I have never done it before.

So enjoy this read, with the night lamp on, a hot cup of chocolate, and the AC on full blast if you’re encountering an Indian summer. This book was made for that.

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com. Participate now to get free books!

8 thoughts on “Salvation of a Saint – Book Review

  1. [quote] Other than that, Japanese names are not the easiest to remember, so at one point, I was wondering why one of the suspects was roaming around with the detective gang, which I later realized was because I had her name confused with another detective’s name.[/quote]
    lol !! ha ha !

  2. I had actually fainted (hence the delay in commenting ;))
    But hey i liked reading your book review, it’s different!!
    Though i think i’ll give this book a pass, coz i have retired from reading this kind of books :)

    • :D You know , I cannot do real book reviews. See , what can you do if you are not supposed to reveal the story, and technicalities and all I don’t know! It’s just about did I like it, why, and who would like it. That’s all I try to convey!
      Well, honestly, I have retired from the Archers and the Sheldons, but I still try new authors for thrillers :) Have you read the millennium trilogy?

  3. >>In any case, I have come to realise that if I do not finish a book (on an average of >>about 500 pages) in 4-5 days, I will never finish it.

    Aah, I totally understand that part. Lately, I seem to lack patience. And I have subscribed to JustBooks for a year, hopefully I do some justice.

    • :( :( I hope for you, that you do! I did not, and I had an awesome library right in my building, and they would even deliver books. Pathetic. Anyway, fingers crossed for the future!

  4. Love your reviews! And love Japanese names too! :D
    Not sure if I would buy it though, unless someone gifts it to me..
    And PS: You know what tragedy happened? I was super excited about getting back to work so I could also get back to blogging. I got my laptop yesterday and guess what, I am not allowed to install any browser other than Internet Explorer and as God would have it, stupid Google Reader is shutting down and none of the replacements run on IE. Ufff. I am back to hating IT. :-/

Leave a Reply

