Rain, rain, go away
(Seriously dude! Too much of anything is bad)
Come again another day.
(Well, that’s your call, but I need a break for atleast a week)
Little Johnny wants to play
(Or rather, I want to ‘not mop’ the floor for a few days)
Rain, rain, go to Spain,
(Or wherever you want to, just go!!)
Never show your face again!
(Wont say that, cause that would mean no 24*7 water, damn!)

Now some gyan about how the (actual) rhyme originated:

“The origin of the lyrics to “Rain rain go away” are said to date back to the reign of Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603), one of the English Tudor monarchs. During this period of English history there was constant rivalry between Spain and England culminating in the launch of the Spanish Armada in 1588. The Spanish Armada consisted of many Spanish galleons and was sent to invade England. The Armada was led by Duke of Medina Sedonia and the fleet numbered over 130 ships. The English fleet, under Admiral Lord Howard, totalled 34 small Navy vessels and 163 armed merchant ships. But the great Spanish Armada was defeated. Only 65 Spanish galleons and just 10,000 men returned to Spain. The attempt failed, not only because of the swift nature of the smaller English ships but also by the stormy weather, which scattered the Armada fleet. Hence the origin of the “Rain rain go away” Nursery rhyme.”
Courtesy: http://www.rhymes.org.uk/rain_rain_go_away.htm

Not that it mattered, but thought I would include it anyways. Damn, I hate these rains!

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

15 thoughts on “”

  1. view from my cubicle
    its 1:50 in the afternoon and outside it looks like 8 in the night, havent seen the sun for ages, thunder is only thing rockin, house is damp, thers stuff growing on my clothes!, traffic is fucked, everything stinks….but …. i still love the rains!!! come on now…walk in the rain by the seaside and u’ll know (btw i havent done tht in ages ;-))..anuj

  2. Re: view from my cubicle
    since my last comment…its poured like never before..result..trains have shut down, road are flooded..and as i type this there has been a thunder and lights have switched to back up !!! wooohooooo…if we had a group i swear i wud have gone out to party:(

  3. I can’t believe you are cribbing about the rain here after spending two monsoons in Kerala. All you have here is an irritating drizzle most of the time.
    But then an moderately intense shower here and the roads are flooded and chaos reigns.

  4. Re: view from my cubicle
    Yeah! My manager (who sits in mumbai) says that they’re all quarantined at the office. Water has seeped in and shorted the servers out. Cars are floating away (now, now, chacha, dont cry).
    Jeez, If you’re gonna be in mumbai, you better learn how to swim!

  5. I totally second ya…
    Zigackly my point DI….A little rain is nice, a nice heavy outpoor once in a while is also ok…but a little drizzle throughout the day jes makes me lazy, spoils the kapde one is wearing and seems to make everyone a tad irritable… and a heavy outpour everyday from 730 am to 830 am and again unfailingly at 830 pm jes drives me nuts…why why just when I want it to be sunny and bright…Neway enough of rain cribbing 🙂
    Nice link to the origin of the rhyme…good 5 mt break.. now back to work.. yeah, theres lots I swear…having a godwaful week..
    J

  6. Dude, you wouldn’t be saying that if you had been in my place. Rains are definitely nice, as long as , you are nice and warm, or are intentionally getting drenched to enjoy it, not when you are all dressed up for a meeting and have to walk thru slushes to reach the office

  7. Re: view from my cubicle
    house is damp, thers stuff growing on my clothes
    Not my idea of fun :((!! As for walk in the rain by the seaside, you are right, but theres no sea out here, only puddles and stinking stagnated water!

  8. Honestly, I used to love when it rained at K. Never got irritated about it even once in the entire two years… but there I didn’t have leaking windows, or the need to hand wash clothes… rains here suck!

  9. Re: I totally second ya…
    yeah, theres lots I swear
    Wow ! now thats news ! As for cribbing about the rains, I have given up, there doesn’t seem a tiny bit of a chance for the sun to show in the near future…

  10. not when you are all dressed up for a meeting and have to walk thru slushes to reach the office
    Evidently, one does not know me at all :). That’s when rain is the best :D. Slush is another matter altogether. But I’d take slush and rain than neither of the two, any day :).
    (Of course, having an understanding boss helps!)

  11. Yeah probably… :), as I type this, the ‘view from my office’ is definitely gone better, what with the sun actually trying to peek in and check on us poor souls!

  12. *tsk*
    DI – I think you should revisit Gurgaon sometime soon and savour some of the wonderful heat/dust here and these teasers of dark clouds that never bear any rain! – think you’ll relish every *drop* of rain you’re getting in Hyderabad. 😉

  13. Noooooooo… you dont get it!!! It actually is too much! I know I might wish for these rains to return once it gets too hot, but I think its enough for now :((

Leave a Reply

