Rant

This is definitely not the best mood to be in when the intent is to resurrect a part-dead blog. But again, probably it is because it is finally making me post. And this, I will make sure does get published, unlike the 30 thousand other posts which I started, and didn’t complete, because when I revisited them they didn’t make as much sense, or completed but didn’t post because by the time I logged in again, they had lost relevance because the discussed matter was way too long in the past.

Anyways, back to the post and the extremely foul mood. I am tired. No, that is an under-statement. I am exhausted. And though I always thought I was someone who would not let what others want , effect what I do or the way I do it, I realized that at the end of the day, I am allowing things to happen the way they are, despite the fact that I am hating them.

It’s high time that some basic disclaimers about the way I operate are set out. On this blog that is, because I am incapable of communicating the same to more appropriate authorities.

– I switch off at 9 PM. That is the maximum I can push myself to be aware and in control of what I am saying or doing. So if there is anything scheduled for after that, I am sorry, I am not part of it. And even so, if you push me to be, I am not responsible for the consequences

– If you want a meeting, schedule it a day in advance. Sending me an appointment, 5 minutes before I am all set to leave for home will only make me angry (and bunk the next day). Also, please check with the point above before fixing anything

– My weekends are mine. And I love them. In fact, I have realized that the only reason why I survive a whole week is the anticipation of the weekend that would finally arrive. So refrain from invading my weekend, and if you do, expect weird excuses.

– There is no word like ‘stretching’ in my dictionary. I firmly believe that stretching beyond your regular hours basically showcases your inefficiency or the fact that you take too many coffee breaks. I cannot be classified under either category, and hence I am not supposed to stretch. And I won’t.

– Don’t ever say, ‘I wish I had your job, you always leave on time’. Try surviving one day working non-stop in front of the system, and getting up only in case of life and death situations, and then talk. Yes, that is a continuation of the rant above.

Ok, that I guess would be it for now. And this list is always subject to updates, so more later. As of now, it is 9:30 PM and I am off to a meeting, which by the way violates both points 1 and 2 above. So much for the disclaimers. Farewell!

6 thoughts on “Rant

  1. I dunno if its the right thing to say and i apologize before hand but i guess you don’t like your job anymore.Its food for thought to say the least.
    PS:I’ve been there.Well what the heck!I am still there, but hopefully not for long.:)

  2. DI says:

    Hmm, not sure. i did speculate if that was the case, but realised that it wasn’t. It is the unwarranted for smart comments that get to me, and make me rant 🙂

  3. My weekends are mine. And I love them. In fact, I have realized that the only reason why I survive a whole week is the anticipation of the weekend that would finally arrive. So refrain from invading my weekend, and if you do, expect weird excuses.
    Out here I find that it’s only the desis who want to work religiously on every Sunday. As if the week isn’t tiring enough, I find myself being nudged for team meetings and teleconferences and all that jazz during the weekends; and since my patience levels almost run dry, the ‘Gimme a break, it’s the weekend!’ bit works really well.

  4. DI says:

    These days I stick to the family commitment excuse, works well when you are married! Little do they know that we hardly have relatives out here!

  5. Were these rules being broken before your marriage? Just checking.
    I know working in weekends suck. I have to officially work on Saturday which makes it really difficult to even contemplate enjoying a weekend.
    But Sunday work….

  6. DI says:

    Well, the rules were always a pain, but it is definitely more bugging now! I still don’t understand how you manage a 6 day week though, I need my two days to recuperate and report back on Monday!

Leave a Reply

