DI’s guide to productive Fridays

would have made this into a book, but since the solution is so short and sweet, I am restricting it to here. To use your Friday well;
– Write a random Blog post
– Read other blogs
– Read some more blogs
– Pick a tag from another blog and write yet another post
– Ensure the tag has a minimum of 50 questions in it
Tada! Your day is done! Well almost.

Picking this from Priya’s blog!

1. Were you named after anyone?
Nope. However, there an interesting story behind my name. And since this is my blog, I am narrating that inspite of not being asked to. Story begins. So, when I was born, my maternal grandmom took it upon herself to name me, and hence went ahead got my birth certificate done with name chosen by her, which was in fact an anagram of my current name. No points for guessing what. When my dad arrived, he apparently blew his top off, as he couldn’t digest the fact that someone had actually gone ahead and named his first child without as much as bothering to consult him. So, he cancelled the original name, and gave me my current name. If you ask me today, I am very very glad he did that. Also, when my sister was born, no one even ventured to suggest anything to him. Story over.

2. When was the last time you cried?
A few days back – I think it was one of those tantrum fits I threw about The Dude going away for 5 weeks. FIVE WEEKS.

3. Do you like your handwriting?
It is nice yes, if I am in the mood to write neatly that is. Or else it is scribbles even I cannot decipher later.

4. What is your favorite lunch meat?
Lunch meat? I dont know. First of all I have turned a non vegetarian recently. And I definitely dont have meat for lunch. My favorite lunch however would be a veggie delite from Subway. Heck that would be my favorite breakfast, lunch and dinner! I like sea food though if you are inetersted to know.

5. Do you have kids?
No I dont. As yet. Which brings me to the names I have in mind for my future kid(s). I had shortlisted ‘Zoravar’ for a son, and ‘Zoya/Zia’ for a daughter. Some fascination for the letter Z. But they have all been vetoed. So suggestions are welcome, and you have all the time in the world, so think hard.

6. If you were another person, would you be friends with you?
I’m not sure. Imagine this, two people, exactly same by nature, and having the exact same views on things, and the exact same likes and dislikes, we would get bored really fast and run out of things to do together. We won’t even have arguments, life would be so boring.

7. Do you use sarcasm?
Yes I do, I try to atleast. My kind of humor it is. Why do you think the Chan-Chan man is an all time favorite!

8. Do you still have your tonsils?
Yes yes

9. Would you bungee jump?
Yes I will! I am thinking in NewZealand. If anyone has any excess cash on hand, please pass it over, and I will plan a vacation.

10. What is your favorite cereal? Cereal and all we people in India don’t eat so often. I have rotis for breakast, very healthy. Once in a while we have Kellogs Chocos with cold milk, but that is so addictive that we don’t buy it anymore.

11. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?
I have only one pair of them tieable shoes, that’s my sports shoes. And no I dont untie them before taking them off, which is exaclt wy I purchased slip on sports shoes this time. People not to assume we do any sports because we dont, and their only use is when there is a chance of me walking more than a kilometer, because then, the heels kill.

12. If you were to pick your own first name, what would it be?
Princess Consuela! No, I wouldn’t pick anything different, my name means a lot to me.

13. What is your favorite ice cream?
Chocolate. I really wish I could say something more exotic and different, but nothing satisfies like chocolate. I can say choco-mint though

14. What is the first thing you notice about people? The way they talk. I am kinda judgemental, I decide whether the person is arrogant, or creepy, or friendly, or funny, or stupid, or intelligent depending on how the person speaks.

15. Red or pink?
Red

16. What is your least favorite thing about yourself
My whiny nature, and the ability to make up or dig for issues in life, even if there aren’t any.

17. Whom do you miss the most?
I miss my home and being with my parents and lil sis. But I am sure than from the 15th, I will have a different story to tell! FIVE WEEKS.

18. Do you want everyone to complete this list?
Their call. 

19. What color clothes are you wearing?
Maroon. And blue. That is so not a good combination!

21. What are you listening to right now?
Nothing actually. Which makes me wonder why. So I will switch on something now. Most probably the band version of ‘Emosanal Atyachaar’ 

22. If you were a crayon, what color would you be?
Blue – no doubts

23. Favorite smells?
Chocolate, Vanilla, wet earth, Gucci Envy me, Armani Code

24. Who was the last person you talked to on the phone?
The Dude

25. How do you know the person who sent this to you?
She is the writer of a blog I frequently visit!

26. Favorite sports to watch?
Cricket – if it is a one day match, even better if it is a 20-20 and is between India and a good other team

27. Hair color?
Black. Turning brown because of excessive use of chemicals to keep it in place

28. Eye color?
Black. Not turning into anything. 

29. Do you wear contacts?
Nopes. My eyes apparently are doing fine, though if I do get a chance I would rather wear glasses. Too scared to put anything in the eye!

30. Favorite foods?
Pani Puri, chocolates, Pongal, rasam, sea-food. What combination no? 

31. Scary movies or happy endings?
Happy endings, Happy endings!

32. Last movie you watched?
Delhi 6

33. What book are you reading now?
Then we came to an end by Joshua Ferris. I don’t know why I bought this book, but I am really trying hard to read it.

34. Summer or winter
Winter, cold, fogs, quilts, hot chai. peanuts. Winter definitely.

35. Hugs or kisses
Can’t do without both

37. Describe your pencil cup
There is no pencil cup here, but there is one common one kept behind and it is not worth describing

38. Favorite artist(s)? I am currently in awe of A.R.Rehman, good enough no?

39. What kind of music are you into?
I am very Bollywood, hindi music rules my ipod

40. What is on your mouse pad?
My mouse. Ok, that’s what ‘on’ it. Anyways, it’s a basic Dell mousepad, if that was the question

41. What did you watch on tv last night?
Top Chef on AXN. Oh, and Baalika Vadhu on Colors. Aiyyo, it was depressing!

42. Favorite sound(s).
The sound of waves on the beach most definitely. I need a vacation 😦

43. Do you sing or play an instrument?
I sing all the time. Can picking tunes on the keyboard with one hand be counted as playing an instrument? Please?

44. What is the farthest you have been from home?
London Baby!

45. Do you have a special talent?
Define special. I mean seriously. And then define talent. What is this? I can move my ears, twitch them actually. Does that count?

46. Where were u born?
Hyderabad. Such a perfect example of ‘life has come a full circle’ this.

47. Favorite piece of jewelry?
My very precious ‘engagement ring’  for sure. The Dude gave it to me in the car parking lot of the mall we purchased it in. So lots of mush value attached!

48. How did you meet your spouse/significant other?
How? Ah, long story, I met his CV first actually. Was told that this ‘profile’ was joining our team soon. In short, we met at work. 

49. Favorite song?
How can you ask for a favorite song like that? Current favorite you can ask. That would be ‘Khudaya Khair’ from Billu Barber, ‘Genda Phool’ from Delhi 6, and ‘Pyaar Ki Daastan’ from Luck By Chance.

50. Favorite musical?
Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam in Hindi. I used to love Fiddler on the Roof in college, so that too!
</lj-cut>

I am done now! What a productive use of Friday eh? So are you bored? Do you have no work to do? Or do you have work that you don’t want to do? Whatever be the case, now you have a solution! Do the fifty question tag! For free!   Ok seriously, it is actually pretty much fun to do, much like those slam-books we used to fill back in school, and it takes almost an hour. So, your call.

Edited to add : I have tried really hard to put this whole long list under an LJ cut, but it is refusing to happen. Hence giving up
Edit 2 : I did it. I did it. Pah, things I do for junta’s convenience!

34 thoughts on “DI’s guide to productive Fridays

  1. Awww. So much aww for the dude going away and you missing him, then more aww for the ring in the parking lot and soooo much AWW for how you met the dude. 🙂
    Maroon and blue? Woah! But it would make for a lovely sari combination- a spunky blue choli with a maroon sari 😀

  2. DI says:

    Sigh. I am trying hard to be very very mature about the whole thing now. Trying. Still. Oh God, Too much mush happening!!
    Hmm, now that you say it, for a saree it is actually pretty nice! But I was more in the jeans with the maroon tee version , so! It kinda sound wrong on paper!

  3. Anonymous says:

    On your taggie
    Nice one…You should like your handwriting…I have the reason in my blog…Twitching and turning your ears is also a talent. Congratulations.

  4. DI says:

    Re: On your taggie
    Hehe, thanks! 🙂 Will visit your page for the reason too!
    Oh and thanks again for the sarcastic congrats too ;), though I guess I deserved that!

  5. Anonymous says:

    Please have a look
    Dear Friend,
    Greetings! During these historic moments of transformation, it seems possible that we are all capable of making change happen! Indicorps was founded on the possibility that Indians from around the world could come together and serve on the forefront of challenges that face India. The applications for the August 2009 Fellowship are now open!
    With our mutual commitment to serving the South Asian community, we hope that you will post our announcement on your blog to share this opportunity with young Indians. Please hurry – the application deadline is March 15, 2009.
    Our flier is available here: http://files.indicorps.org/Flyers/Indicorps%20Flyer%20Red%20&%20Yellow%20Stripes.pdf
    Thank you for your support!
    Warm regards in service,
    ….
    Indicorps August 2009 Fellowship Application Now Available
    Indicorps, an international non-profit, offers competitive fellowships for people of Indian origin willing to challenge themselves for one to two years on unique grassroots development projects in India. Fellowships are designed as one-of-a-kind transformational experiences, emphasizing both public service and personal growth, building upon leadership skills and the capacity to make a difference.
    Indicorps announces over 30 competitive new projects for the August 2009 Indicorps Fellowship. Indicorps seeks a few dozen dedicated young Indian leaders who are willing to challenge themselves and “be the change.” You will have the opportunity to tackle real issues in education, microenterprise, social entrepreneurship, environmental conservation, public health, urban infrastructure, and much more. Live simply and dig deep to learn about real India (and yourself); projects span from Kanpur to Pondicherry, Gujarat to Madhya Pradesh. To learn more, visit http://apply.indicorps.org.
    Application deadline: March 15, 2009
    Contact: If you have any questions or need any more information, please contact us at outreach@indicorps.org or visit us online at http://www.indicorps.org.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Hi Divya
    Am a new reader of ur blog…like ur writing style a lot!!
    When i read about Hyderabad, i got nostalgic..i have moved to Chennai since a year and now i have got married here…i miss my home at Marredpally terribly..
    Sri
    PS: Its sad that u have to be away from the Dude for 5 weeks…maybe it will bring you both closer!:)

  7. DI says:

    🙂 Thanks a lot!
    Yep staying away from your hometown is the worst thing to happen! But do you like Chennai now? I live pretty close to Marredpally by the way!
    And hope what you say is true, might help me deal with the lambi judaai better!

  8. Anonymous says:

    Actually Chennai is my hometown as i was born there but i was completely brought up at Hyderabad..i did my schooling from St Anns, Intermediate from St Francis and Bcom from Kasturba…i used to visit Chennai during summer holidays to meet my grandparents..i used to hate Chennai for the heat but now i have kind of gotten used to it…when there is AC at home n office, the heat is bearable!!another added advantage is the beach here..the only “beach” at Hyd is Tank Bund!!the only negative factor here is that people here are not as broad minded as Hyderabadis..but luckily my hubby doesnt have the conventional Chennai mentality so im lucky!:)

  9. DI says:

    Good for you! 🙂
    I have already started digging into your archives, so have pretty good idea about what you’re facing out there. I keep getting updates about the outlook of people from the city from my sister who works there. Pretty tough on you guys! The beach is definitely a plus though!

  10. Anonymous says:

    Ohh ur sis works here..my sis works at Hyd..!she keeps me updated on Hyderabad news and i tell her my Chennai stories..initially it was very tough adjusting here but now it is ok but i prefer Hyderabad anyday!! even my hubby loves Hyd and he says im at my humorous best at Hyd..i guess it is the joy of a married girl meeting her parents after a long time….:)

  11. DI says:

    I am sure that’s the secret! And it’s great that you live just a night’s journey away from home, so you can go when you want!

  12. Anonymous says:

    I rarely do tags… But wouldn’t mind reading them!
    Was forced to do this 50-Q thingie on facebook… Grrr..! And had to paste it on blogger too… x(
    Interestingly done.
    Peace.

    Greetings ma’am,
    A random blog-hopper here.
    Peace. Have a nice day.

  13. DI says:

    Hmm, tags are the last resort, when you have nothing else to blog about and nothing else to do in general too! Yep, reading others’ is always more fun.
    Peace 😉
    And thanks for stopping by!

  14. Anonymous says:

    Last resort??? Ha! Believe it or not, I was threatened to do the 50-Q’er. 😀
    It turned out to to be a desperation – survival instincts! Not a last resort! Poor me. 😦
    And well, needless to say, I can be more expressive while getting back at those souls who tagged me. *devil grin*
    Ummm… 25 things about oneself *has* to be self-indulged, right? 🙂
    I appreciate your prompt visit, ma’am. Gratias.
    Hope to see you often. 🙂
    Peace.

  15. DI says:

    Hehe, poor you alright!
    But the end result was goood, and provided much relief to bored souls caught up in office work! You’re definitely seeing more of me sir.
    🙂

  16. Anonymous says:

    Glad you had a laugh. Cos, frankly, I s*ck (pardon the expletive) when it comes to humour. I mean… It doesn’t come naturally. Tags are different, mercifully! Not a work of prose/poetry where I have to think and fret about the humour-element.
    ;D I hope your colleagues didn’t quiz you much… If they need life, ask them to take up 50-Q/Random-25. Heh heh heh, a healthy activity – respite from boredom.
    I hope to not disappoint your readership. Merci, madame!
    Peace.

    6 o’clock and still at work? Mummmyyyy, I don’t wanna work! 😦
    Friday is here. *reminder* 🙂

  17. DI says:

    Life’s like that only pa :(.I come in only at 11 though :D.
    About the humor bit, I believe that there is no humor better than sarcastic humor (as stated in the tag itself), and you pretty much know where you stand in that department 😉
    Yesssss…. Friday is here!

  18. Anonymous says:

    You are lucky… 11 – 6 sounds a fair deal. *sigh* No, I am not envying you, yet 🙂
    Me has life, for now. ;D
    Ha ha! Sarcastic humour, indeed! Where I stand..? I’ll let people [who tag me] answer that.
    Peace.

  19. DI says:

    11 to 7 actually. Add the travel hours and you have yourself half the day done. Heh.
    Though only when you start the ‘real’ life, would you realise the importance of this little details!

  20. Anonymous says:

    y are all bloggers so fake?..do u live ur life so that u can blog abt it later..??..u’ll probably delete this comment but watever..n d way u bring f.r.i.e.n.d.s into ur blog..u knw the subtlety..wow
    next wen u have a free friday..go read a book or sumthn…spare us d ”free friday” blog post of yours..n khudaya khair sucks btw…

  21. DI says:

    Awwwww, there there, not so much frustration!
    Lemme think, do I live my life to blog about it, or do I blog because I have a life? Hmmm, Food for thought dear blogger companions!
    Though you, I have a feeling, don’t have a life, why else would you read the page, get all angry, and then post a comment too! I pity thee.
    P.S. Oh, and now thanks to you, my blog has all those sms type short forms! *Shudder*

  22. Anonymous says:

    Mr.Anonymous WEIGHT a pesararu. Cha how effectively he drove home the point of getting a life while taking hte pains to comment here 🙂

  23. DI says:

    Hey, but you have to give to him, about the whole ‘do you live your life so that you can blog about it later’ thing. Comeon, did you ever have such a profound thought?

  24. Anonymous says:

    Just happened to stumble upon this post and HAHAHAHA at the reply to anonymous! Loved the post but loved the comment a lot more!

  25. DI says:

    Oh man! You know when I saw your blog URL, for a moment I thought it was a comment on the state of things, and you are yet another person unhappy with what I write! May be he is correct, but guess what, though I have the time to respond, I dont have time to ponder over that!

  26. Anonymous says:

    Aila! Anonymous!
    **y are all bloggers so fake?
    – Seriously, are you for real?
    **do u live ur life so that u can blog abt it later..??
    – Allow me to ask you the same. Do you live a life of reading blog posts and leaving Anonymous comments. What a wank! No, I do not pity you. Boo! 😛
    **u’ll probably delete this comment but watever
    – Wanna see?
    **n d way u bring f.r.i.e.n.d.s into ur blog..u knw the subtlety
    – And the way you left an Anonymous comment. Wank!
    **next wen u have a free friday..go read a book or sumthn
    – Ummm, did anyone ask you for your take?
    **spare us d ”free friday” blog post of yours
    – Why don’t you spare us with your esteemed absence.

    Peace.

  27. DI says:

    Re: Aila! Anonymous!
    Hahaha, thanks for that 😉
    I just checked the comment on yours btw! Man, ‘Clover’ hates you! Your fault too, the way you brought darkness in to his/her life! Not happening, tsk tsk.
    Hilarious though!

  28. Anonymous says:

    Re: Aila! Anonymous!
    *choke* *gasp*
    Me? Bring abt darkness in Clover’s life? U gotta be kidding me, ma’am! 😀
    I took sadistic pleasure in seeing Clover off though. *har har har*, courtesy my reply to it’s comment. And guess what… Right at the bottom? Thee was an Anonymous person asking me how I recovered from Schizophrenia! *show-off me 😛 *
    Can’t be li’l me’s fault if ppl relate to my writing that well. 🙂
    Glad you had a laugh.
    Peace.

  29. DI says:

    Re: Maroon. And blue. That is so not a good combination!
    It is supposed be, her movies were all B/W na! Anyways, let me see what you’re refering to first

  30. Anonymous says:

    Re: Aila! Anonymous!
    ** Oh btw, how DID you recover ? :))))))
    – Ummm, I cleared a psycho-analysis test with flying colours. 😛 The doctor went nuts. First time a normal person wrote something that vividly captured a Schizophrenic’s thoughts.
    Psychotic beast, filled with rage and lust!
    Stomping all opposition ’til their brains are dust!
    Out of the darkness, a maniac unseen,
    Who can thwart this nasty machine…

    *buhahahaha*
    🙂
    Peace. Have an uber weekend, ma’am!

Leave a Reply

