Because I have the time

 – I like my voice when I have a cold. It gets way deeper, which is really something, because my voice is deeper than average in general. So much so, that some credit card company callers refer to me as sir, and no, I don’t find that amusing at all. But it does remind me of Phoebe finding her voice much sexier when she has a cold, and hates it when she is back to normal. Remember?
 
– For the first time ever in my life, I worked on a Saturday. Not counting this one Saturday when we were all summoned to the office for some hideous dance practice which was the norm in the ex-company. This time I actually worked-worked. And this is a first in my 4 and half years of professional life. Some achievement, yes? No, not the working on the weekend bit, but the managing-to-not-work-on-a-weekend-for-such-a-long-time bit. I know, I didn’t expect you to get that anyway.
 
– As a repercussion of the above event, which by the way is a nominee at the Shock of the century awards, I missed the Mango sale. Which is not good at all, because Mango opened very recently in our city, and this is it’s first sale. Not that the sale is over, but I happen to belong to the school of thought which believes that all good things in a sale are sold out in the very first weekend, and what remains is unwearable, not your size, or unaffordable (which defeats the very purpose of the sale).
 
– I also missed the sale at Aldo, where I hoped to pick up these amazing pair of blue pumps which (I hoped) would be available at an amazing 80% off the original price. Did I mention my New Year resolution is to be all optimistic and positive?
 
– There is this nice steel grey building in front of our office, the top floor of which is in my straight line of sight. What is weird is it has these two entrance sort of things on the terrace, which are painted bright pink. I have no idea why that is, but it seriously hurts my eyes every time I look up. To my left, is a gigantic window with an amazing view, but I can’t really keep my head turned that way all the time, so it’s practically of no use.
 
– The sensor lights above my head which I had mentioned in the last post, have changed their modus operandi. They now switch on only when some one on my extreme left moves. Which is surprising, because this light is towards my right. Also, it has very conveniently decided to ignore my existence altogether. The only positive thing is, these lights act as an alarm every time someone approaches my seat from behind,  and gives me enough time to minimize all the Internet explorer windows, and maximize a colorful excel sheet, before the said person actually reaches my seat.
 
– Also, since I now regularly leave for work at 7:30, it means not enough time for breakfast. Which means, brunch at office. Which invariably is something they call egg-combo, consisting of a small bowl of rice, two parathas, one small bowl of dal, one smaller bowl of raita, and the item which gave the combo this name, egg curry. But obviously I am sick and tired of eating this every, single, day. But I still manage to finish the entire plate, except the egg yolk because of my near starvation status at the moment. Things we do for paapi-pet. Oh, and between the last bullet point and this, I had my brunch. And yes, it was an egg-combo.
 
– Something I love about my workplace is it’s cheery decor. It’s an open office, white ceilings, pillars in pastel shades, glass windows on two sides, while the other two are covered with gigantic images of babies, children playing, happy families etc. The coffee area has equally big images of brewing tea, vegetables, and the lounge has very colorful images of Indian folk dances, monuments, forts, deserts. And the cafeteria has magnified, and very nicely shot pictures of spices, dry-fruits, fruits, and all kinds of eatables. It all looks awesome.
 
– I noticed this girl in our bus, who brought along a typical self-help book to read, which had to do with emotions, something like ‘manage your emotions’ or ‘befriend your emotions’ or such. So, she started reading it, and promptly fell asleep within 5 minutes. Which makes me wonder if people actually find these reads helpful, or if they pick up these reads to generally look cool, which is ironic, because I find these the most uncool of all categories of books. This of course is strictly a personal opinion, and we all have our preferences, but I thought of saying it anyway.
 
– I have a new URL at WordPress, all set, ready to use for almost a month now. It took me a while to get the header in place and all, and to figure out the method of transferring posts and comments from here to there, and the idea was to move in the New Year, but as you can see I didn’t, so we are still here. Anyway, I have no idea why we have not moved yet, but I am hoping we eventually do, so one fine day, you’ll have a ‘We’ve moved’ post out here. Hopefully.
 
– This post turned out to be way longer than I had intended it to be when I started, but that’s the minus with bullet point posts. The plus with these posts is that we were able to get in so many things which would have never warranted a mention out here otherwise. Good, fair and just post this one is. Me likes. You?

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

12 thoughts on “Because I have the time”

  1. Hah
    7 and half years of:
    * Not having worked a single weekend
    * 8 hour work days 99.99% of the time
    And many other notable achievements many of which I cannot put in a public forum.
    And btw, I once had a ‘uncrush’ on a girl because I saw her browsing the Self Help section in Landmark.

  2. Re: Hah
    Thanks. For stealing my thunder. But seriously, I bow to thee!
    And totally acceptable reason for having an ‘uncrush’ dude, totally.

  3. Heylo again!
    Nice post, as usual and I am glad you are posting quite frequently this year! πŸ™‚
    I finished college just this year and started my Professional Life. You, Ma’am are an inspiration! πŸ™‚ Never worked on weekends? My manager should take a que from this post! Mind if I circulate it? πŸ˜‰
    Oh and Self-help books are pretty cool, especially their titles! I am planning to get one for myself – “Make ‘Em Pay – A vengeance manual” πŸ˜€
    Cheers!
    Preeti – BTW, I have also decided to update my blog frequently from now on..Itna toh banta hai na! πŸ™‚
    http://www.preetireviews.blogspot.com

  4. Hey! Thanks πŸ™‚ And I think the reason I am posting more often this year because I didn’t make a resolution to do it!
    I like the sound of that book, should be very useful, esp when they make me work weekends, what say ?;)
    Good for you, frequent updates means more to read! Yay! πŸ™‚

  5. Ah! nice to see updates from you so frequently πŸ™‚
    …and you havent worked on weekends until now????????? Which company do u work for? If they have openings, I’m applying!
    …and welcome to the WP family in advance : )Cant wait to see you there πŸ™‚

  6. I like bullet posts too. They’re so much fun!
    OK, now for the post itself:
    ## Voice – Ditto and Phoebe was the first person I thought of even before I read the sentence about her πŸ™‚
    ## Weekend working – Almost ditto. During my one year in the BPO sector, I worked several weeknights 😦 Since then, maybe three Saturdays in seven years.
    ## Sale – How come I NEVER get to know of sales except the ones at Globus and Shoppers Stop??????????????????? What’s the secret???
    ## Pink doors – I believe southern states are so much more colorful (and not in a good way) than the remaining states. I remember my Chennai guest house was a combination of canary yellow, pink, leaf green, and electric blue! My eyes still hurt when I think of it.
    ##Sensor – Good job on IE windows.
    ## Egg combo – !!!!!
    ## Office decor – Why baby pics on office walls?
    ## Self-help books- I have read some of those. Those were standard “gifts” in my first office! But not in a long time now. I bought The Secret thinking it’s fiction! Couldn’t manage beyond 10 pages.
    ## WordPress – Big fan! More power to you.

  7. Thanks! How’s it going in the new house btw? We need pictures!
    Ummm, I have been lucky I would like to think! And we do have openings btw, here and in the US too, so let me know πŸ˜‰
    I really hope I move soon, will comment under a pseudonym then!

  8. Oh wow! Yes, that is big lady! Esp cos I share mine with Baba Sehgal, and Puttparthi Sai baba. So, I will always say it is awesome to have it in common with Shepherd! Btw, today is the big day, we get to waych Grey’s!
    I did check your post, and was ROFLing at the diagram! But like I said, still can’t post comments from office :(, so will login from home and give my views πŸ˜‰

  9. Wow! I love your comments, actually show that you read the whole post! πŸ™‚
    I was in the BPO sector for 3 and a half years, my first job, and that’s where all the dance and all was happening! But luckily no weekend work πŸ™‚ It’s different out here, but I’m kinda ok with it!
    About the sales, I am always getting smses when they start! It’s almost as if the shops have done a shopping pattern analysis and know which customers to target!
    Agree about the colorful bit to some extent! But this is an awesome IT office building! You really expect some class yes?
    Aha! Baby pics becos of the sector this company belongs to πŸ™‚ Lemme say, we are the kinds who take credit for bringing smiles and spreading cheer and taking care of the people and all, esp becos no one can do without what we make! Though everyone hopes they don’t need to πŸ™‚
    WP still not happened, man I am indecisive!

  10. Hmm, I guess that wasn’t a good enough explanation then, thinking about it, even insurance people do that! Let me think of a better way of saying it then, we ensure people have a good amount of what a popular phrase calls wealth! I know, total giveaway, but like I said, might move to wordpress before they sue me :P!

Leave a Reply

