The sister of the bride

Guess who played hooky from the blogosphere for more than two weeks?

*Hangs head in shame*

Ok, ok. Enough of the drama. After a long and well deserved hiatus from blogging, we have now decided to make good the couple of weeks we ignored the poor place, by writing a come back post. Right now. From home. At 10:40 in the night. When I have work tomorrow. And that, everyone knows, is BIG.

So where were we? Or rather, where was I? Ah, see now comes the part when I tell you how totally understandable this break from the blog world was. It was the Lil sis’s wedding. *Brief pause for the congratulatory wishes* Yes people, we are officially grown up now. But of course, when you have a younger sister, who is like 3 and a half years younger to you, a total kid some would say (including me), and she gets married, it means you are really grown up now. The fact that she is all of 23 and 11 months and 3 weeks (sheesh, that’s almost like child marriage! In my times, it was acceptable, but now, seriously?!) doesn’t change anything.

Anyway. So one would think, that your only sister’s wedding would be the wedding next in line after your own, when it comes to the level of involvement, right? Wrong. You do not know what being involved in a wedding is, until you’ve done one of these. Your own wedding is like cake walk. Almost. Come on, all you need to do is look good, smile at people while they are being introduced, with a dazed look, hoping they wouldn’t realise you can’t hear a thing, accepting the compliments, and collecting the gifts (ah, the gifts!) and looking forward to the next week when you would be travelling to Egypt. That is awesomeness. That is not involvement.

Involvement is running around in high heeled shoes , struggling with the super-pretty Saree you picked months ago, and trying to get things in order. It is smiling at everyone and asking them if they had dinner, met the bride and groom, and ensuring that they did. It is collecting the gifts that your sister is going to take away anyway (ah, the gifts!) and ensuring they don’t get lost. It is running from the reception area to the guesthouse because mom forgot the gifts they are supposed to exchange at the main wedding ceremony. And then ensuring that Lil sis doesn’t get too lost in the smiles and almost pulling her off the limelight so that she has enough time to change into the muhurtham saree. It is not being able to change into that very pretty Saree you picked specially for the muhurtham because you were so busy running around. Now that by the way, is involvement. And that by the way is being a total grown up. Now you know, huh?

But it was amazing. It was overwhelming even. Like I said, it takes more than a little effort to come to terms with the fact that your kid sister is actually married. And while watching her change from one Saree to another, and go through the entire set of rituals, all the time with that smile (Ok fine, your own wedding isn’t that easy either) I was almost like proud of her or something. I mean, you can picture me, looking at her with this dazed smile and thinking ‘oh, look at the little one, all mature and all’. Tell me, can I get more grown up than that? Nope.

Undoubtedly, I had my amazing bouts of impatience and outbursts too. Hello, chaos, crowd, running around, and me. Not a good combination really. And also, I said I was grown up, not a different person. But all that while, it was The Dude who would bring some sort of order to the chaos. That guy is amazing at that, by the way. Making me move from the angry to the almost apologetic mode in less than 2 minutes that is. It is not at all good for the self esteem, I have to say, but it does help protect the world from disaster.  Aww, I am getting all mushy about him now.

That being said, life is back to routine now. And that sucks, but then that’s the way life is. I know, full philosophy and all, it’s the grown-up in me speaking, I tell you. I am almost proud of myself now. Anyway, being a grown-up also means I need my 7 hours of sleep. And it is 11:30 PM right now. So I will go and sleep. After I pull The Dude from in front of the TV (What is with him and The Dark Knight? I am really worried now). You guys will be seeing more of me here now, so till then, Goodnight!

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

21 thoughts on “The sister of the bride”

  1. Hi. Welcome back to blogosphere:) And The Dark Knight is one hell of a movie. I think I would have already watched it more than 10 times(can you believe it?:):) Anyway looking forward to reading more from you .

    1. Thanks! Agreed it’s an awesome movie, but it is a very wrong alternative to sleeping on a sunday night, when you have an early monday to wake up to! 🙂 Will be updating soon again, after I catch up with my blogs to read!

  2. Awww Di – Congratulations on the Lill sister’s wedding…and on growing up too :P. Totally identify with what u say – my lill cousin sister is 21 and i still think she is too small to have a bf!! i dont think i’ll allow her to get married though..she baby!

    1. Hola! Thanks 😀 Like I said, the very fact that the ‘kids’ in the family are seeing people and getting married, is SO tough to digest!
      Umm, 21 is literally a baby btw! So no marriage and all yet!

  3. congrats! I never realised how much work happened during my wedding – the actual running around was done by a million others. Now, when my sister’s comes along…well, I;m just grateful there’s a lot of time for that 😀

    1. Same here! Like I said, I realised the extent of effort that goes into being a host is crazy, and is not at all realised when it is one’s own wedding! I am just glad my parents decided to stop with two kids :)!

  4. Congratulations!! And yay, you’re back!!

    I know exactly what you mean w.r.t. the running around. But I’m thankful too that I have no little sister, hehe. I did enough running around for my own wedding. Getting married away from home — bad idea.

    1. Thanks Mala! 😀
      Oh yes, if it is away from home, it must have been crazy! Anyway, like I said, I am planning to add this event to my event management experience 😛 My feet still hurt!

  5. Oh ho look whos bk .. welcome welcome ji 🙂
    3.5 yrs younger, calling her a child .. aww, sounds all too familiar. Same with my sis too 🙂
    Gosh! Hw will I even believe it if she says she is getting married 🙄

    Where r the goodies btw 😛

    1. Hehe! I know man, younger sisters do seem like kids all the time no!
      I am sure you’ll be as shocked and surprised when the day comes!
      There are tonnes of goodies, you’re more than welcome to drop in anytime! Afterall we are in the same city 😀

  6. Congratulations to the sister 🙂
    I will copy-paste this post when my sister gets married. (same age difference and all that) 😉

    1. OMG so many people seem to have kid sisters with the same age difference!
      Anyway, for you to copy-paste the post, you have to step out of the kid zone yourself first! 🙂

  7. Umm?? No younger sisters here? I feel left out! Have an elder sister, 3.5 years age difference, married and waiting for me to get married! Congos to your sister! Does she have a blog? The younger sisters could collect and gossip there! 😉 🙂

    1. Ah, see now she would understand what I am saying! Thanks for the wishes, and no, she doesn’t have a blog anymore, she did start one, ranted for a couple of weeks and then went back to her other venting outlet, me 🙂 So , no more blogs!
      Btw, long break in Grey’s huh? Bugging these people are! :S

  8. Yeah Yeah. Happened to me too. The big sis said she couldn’t believe I was getting married and when I told her I was landing on 30 this birthday, she was shocked and was speechless for sometime on the phone!
    I think I am always iBaby :-))

    1. True 😀 Like I said, it felt perfectly normal when I got married at the same age as her, And now when I look at her pics as the bride, it is so shocking! Yes. younger sisters do stay babies forever! :)!

  9. My sis is 22 now and i am wondering how i will feel at her wedding!She was in tears when EA tied the thaali though i was giggling!!;)

    I cant even imagine running about at her wedding in those heavy silk sarees..will have to make EA take complete charge of Oviya!

    1. Wow! 🙂

      It is tough I tell you, and this when I have no Oviya to take care of! EA will definitely have to take charge then, because you for one will be busier than ever!

      I giggled all through my wedding, and so did my sis, though she did get a bit sentimental while she was leaving! I was shameless :))

Leave a Reply

