Little Miss Sunshine

Happy New Year people! *insert cheers and applause and loud firecrackers here*

Ok, so we’re back. Another year, another day, and another new post. And this one is courtesy WordPress, who very sweetly sent in this summary of sorts to all. And then I saw it posted at a lot of places, and I was all impressed. Wow, so much effort. Save the pictures. Copy the text. Load the pictures. Adjust the positioning. Actually, too much effort. So I gave up.

Then, I ran out of ideas for a new year post, and it is already the 4th, so I finally gave in. That is when I saw that very friendly “Post to your blog” button in the mail. Perfect.

So here it is, this year on WordPress, which incidentally is the blog’s first year on WordPress. Of course, with my comments, you think I would something as-is?

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health: <Thank you, dear monkeys, I am obliged>

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meterโ„ข reads Wow. <Mine, and everyone else’s? Ah, well, one should not be too cynical. Thank you, again!>

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

About 3 million people visit the Taj Mahal every year. This blog was viewed about 25,000 times in 2010. If it were the Taj Mahal, it would take about 3 days for that many people to see it. <I like the analogy. I mean, The Taj Mahal. ย That’s a grand way to put it!>

In 2010, there were 54 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 282 posts. There were 96 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 14mb. That’s about 2 pictures per week. <I thought it was 55. Damn! Anyhow, I have no clue what 96 pictures they are referring to. I hardly upload any, no?>

The busiest day of the year was October 28th with 256 views. The most popular post that day was The one with all the Appreciation. <Wow. Optimism does pay after all. That was my most positive post ever, and look how much popularity it got me. *Sniff* Ooh, and look at the picture they sent. My pretty pretty map. I am actually very happy about that. That’s my favorite piece of work, like, ever.>

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were labnol.org, *beep*.livejournal.com, snippetsnscribbles.wordpress.com, smartassbride.wordpress.com, and My Comments. <Pah. People still come here from the old blog. Anyhow, I have long ago given up on the anonymity drama, so it’s ok I guess. And a special thanks to Abi and SnS!>

Some visitors came searching, mostly for foreverinbluejeans wordpress, colin mochrie hyderabad, foreverinbluejeans.wordpress.com, foreverinbluejeans, and foreverinbluejeans.wordpress. <This is ok. So other than Colin Mochrie who got me quite some traffic, people are pretty much coming in search of the blog itself. Which is cool, but I still don’t understand the need to google the url, instead of typing it on the address bar by itself. Someone care to explain?>

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

The one with all the Appreciation October 2010
69 comments

2

‘ello! October 2009
59 comments

3

Travel-log January 2010
11 comments

4

Breathe in. Breathe out. May 2010
109 comments

5

The road (not) taken September 2010
117 comments

<Yay! This again is very nice to know! And I think the last two were the maximum comments ever too? So the blog is very happy and says Thank you. And I am very happy and say Thank you ย too.>

Hope you all are very happy too. 2011, as those of you who are on my Facebook list would already no, gives me a very nice feeling. A sort of warm feeling. Like the way I feel right now, as the very pleasant sunrays fall upon from me the large windows I face. I hope this is what the year promises to bring, and succeeds in bringing about as well. Warmth, light, cheer, and contentment.

73 thoughts on “Little Miss Sunshine

    • Post to your blog – You pressed that.. So much of efforts… ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

      I shifted to WP only this 1st so no such mail…

      54 posts is a good number… Hope you write even more this year…

      Cheers to your blog… ๐Ÿ™‚

      • DI says:

        Thank you Tanishka! ๐Ÿ˜€ I know you just shifted, I updated my Reader ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
        I sure hope 54 is a good number! And hope even more that next year has a lot more! Cheers!

  1. Swaram says:

    First of all, thanks for making it different ๐Ÿ˜›
    I ws tired of reading the first line on monkeys everywhere ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Oh btw, y am I nt getting this!:grrrrrrrrrrr

  2. Happy new year! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Hope you get all that you wish for! ๐Ÿ™‚
    That’s a good report card you got for 2010! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Oh and since you’re in a happy mood, here’s a list of things I want from you – Sunshine (It’s frigging cold and dark here), some cheer (having the lousiest possible day today) and more blog posts! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. ajay says:

    That’s a very nice report card. 54 posts is good but I hope you blog more often this year. Here’s to a fabulous year ahead. ๐Ÿ˜€ Ah that’s an awesome theme. Loved it!

  4. Nice little report card, I am loking forward to mine next year, just joined wordpress myself ๐Ÿ™‚

    and i loved the theme..

    here’s wishing many more posts this year and a great report this year end tooo ๐Ÿ™‚

    All the best and a Happy new year once again ..

    Bikram’s

  5. I m not getting this mail and its making me feel left out :(.

    I m lovin the background image of the blog right now. Its awesome!

    Happy New Year ๐Ÿ™‚

    • DI says:

      Thank you Harini! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Are you on WP? I thought you had your own site or something (though I have no clue about all this!)
      Are you seeing the new background, I just changed it today! Glad you liked it!:)

  6. rechristened says:

    I am going to call you “Miss Taj Mahal Three Times Over” from now ๐Ÿ˜›

    Haha, well done, mate. Keep brightening our days.

  7. snippetsnscribbles says:

    WOW! That comparison with Taj Mahal is something!:D

    Congrats on everything!

    Btw, why dint I get this email ?! ๐Ÿ˜›

    • DI says:

      I don’t know why you didn’t! I thought it was a general WP thing, which I still think it is ๐Ÿ˜ Check check, it must be hidden somewhere!
      And thanks ๐Ÿ˜› I feel so accomplished ๐Ÿ˜› ๐Ÿ˜›

  8. These reports are so much fun to read.. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope 2011 is even better for you ๐Ÿ™‚

    Aah love the new background and there is one pic I love above all else.. Guess which one ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€

    • DI says:

      Thanks Comfy, and wish the same to you! ๐Ÿ™‚
      As for the background, hmmm, I am hoping it is that sepia click ๐Ÿ˜‰ One of my favorites ever!

    • DI says:

      Thanks! And wish you the same! Where are you, India or not?
      And I am glad you think the template is me, full effort put for that ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. su says:

    Looks like I’ve come here after a while…template is lots of fun. Probably an obvious question but is the couple on the top, in sepia, you and the dude?
    Happy New Year ! Hope it’s awesome !

    • DI says:

      Hehe! Welcome back! I should restrict visibility on the readers, so people will be forced to come here ๐Ÿ˜‰
      And yes, you’re right, that’s us!
      Happy New Year to you too! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Oh goddd… that map pic reminded me of our conversation in the car!!! ;razz: … good blogging year DI .. only if WP had hired me I would have rubbed off the ‘lazy’ bit … errr or I think it’s my reader which shows that ‘you barely post’ ..

    *runs far far away – thinks of signing up for a marathon*

  11. Scribbler says:

    I liked the stats too..it’s fun reading what all happened in the last year of the gone decade ๐Ÿ™‚

    Also when I clicked on the maximum comments post I was super happy to read all those comments of you,sags comfy et al…it’s great to revisit the past ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh and I loved this blog design…it rocks totally ๐Ÿ™‚ crispy fresh look ! muuwah

  12. Kya baat! Hahahha.. Great report card DI. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope your blog gets better and better this year. Good start for your blog!

    And yeah! I loved your background. Esp. those stilettos and chocolates..Love them ๐Ÿ™‚

    • DI says:

      Thanks Harsha! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      And thanks about the background too! The perfect pictorial representation of “these are a few of my favorite things!”

  13. 117 comments? :eyeroll: .. I can’t even dream of that number.. and the crap I churn out doesn’t deserve those many comments anyway ๐Ÿ˜›

    I loveee the background. How did you do it?

    • DI says:

      Aiyyo! If you go see the comments per se, it will be all a huge conversation between me, Sags, Nu, Nuttie and all! That’s the secret ๐Ÿ˜‰ Plus, they kinda colluded to make the 100 happen I think :)) So if you keep chit-chatting with all of us, the day is not far at all :))
      The background is from a site called photovisi.com, pretty cool, lets you make custom collages ๐Ÿ™‚ Try it!

  14. smartassbride says:

    happy new year again! may you get many more wow! ratings ๐Ÿ˜€ i also accept presents for contributing to the hit count ๐Ÿ˜€

    and it beats me and irritates me too – why would people want to google for “smartassbride wordpress.com” when they can as well type the URL! ugh.

    • DI says:

      ๐Ÿ˜€ Thanks Abi! Wish you the same! Once again for the contribution too!
      I am hoping someone responds and lets me know the secret behind googling URLS some day! ๐Ÿ˜

  15. S says:

    happppppppppy new year ๐Ÿ™‚
    i might just sound too repetitive here ๐Ÿ˜ but i looooooooooove ur template ๐Ÿ™‚ n i see a glimpse of grey’s anatomy too.. yay!! And red pumps! aah.. ๐Ÿ™‚
    apart from all that.. congratulations on last year’s blogging extravaganza ๐Ÿ™‚ and i totally empathise with the WTF pic ๐Ÿ˜ i go thru the same predicament :/

    • DI says:

      Thanks S! ๐Ÿ˜€
      Any amount of repetition , if so positive is always welcome, so yay! ๐Ÿ˜€ Oh, and I am a self-professed Grey’s anatomy addict, so!
      Ah, nothing like empathy when it comes horrible travel tales! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  16. Your blog looks so YUMMY ๐Ÿ˜‰ I cant help it…only drooling o’er that paani puri …hmmm that tangy taste..i am going for it… NOW ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Hey, Happy New Year, DI. ๐Ÿ™‚ Wishing you one of the bestest years and times ahead. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ Hoping to meet you before this year ends… ๐Ÿ˜‰

    All u guys published this mail from WordPress, making one more post, huh ???? ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • DI says:

      Hey Uma! Thanks and wish you the same ๐Ÿ™‚ And I do feel we are going to meet this year ๐Ÿ˜€
      I know, full cheating huh ๐Ÿ˜‰ It just added to my number!

  18. Hey DI,

    Sorry for the late response.. I somehow missed this post…But anyways… coming to ur post…

    Looks like your stats are awesome last year and Im sure this will be a good start for 2011. And as i said earlier in ur previous post 54 is too good a number and hope u increase it this year…

    So here’s to 2011 !!
    Keep blogging!!

    Cheers,
    Sukanya

    P.S (You still owe me a visit to my page ๐Ÿ˜› )

  19. Happy New Year to you too! Mighty impressed with the Taj Mahal comparison! Glad to have stumbled by your blog. Looking forward to reading you more often ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

