The Immortals of Meluha – Book Review

So, we’re back! With yet another book review (Courtesy:Blogadda). And trust me, there is some serious effort going into getting this up and posted. So if you are reading this, could we have double the applause? One for the review, and two, for being able to get this out there without the luxury of the Internet?

So this book I had already heard of quite a bit. Through Social networking sites, and as a huge recommendation from the Lil Sis, who is definitely a more voracious reader than I have been in a while. So even before Blogadda came up with this book for the review, she had asked me to read it. Now, I am into historical fiction, but I need it to be fast. Prior to Chanakya’s Chant, I had read the first of Ashok Banker’s Ramayana series, and though I found it informative, I also found it a little slow thanks to all the information it had. So the imminent comparison was this. I was told that at no point in the book would I find it slow, I repeat, an important point for me to consider while picking up a read. So, I decided to give it a go.

The book is set in 1900 BC, and is about Shiva, a native of Mount Kailash, who is invited along with his tribe to settle down in Meluha, a country hailed as the epitome of perfection. In the first few chapters, you realize, along with Shiva the character himself, that he is in fact a reincarnation of Lord Shiva who is out here for a purpose, to ensure that good wins over evil.
The narration is crisp, the settings can be visualized. There are a number of characters who are introduced along the way, but the focus stays on a chosen few, making it very easy to not lose track in an otherwise fast paced story.

However, I would categorise this book as a historical action packed story, rather than a thriller. More so, because I expect massive twists in the story for it to be a thriller per se. The book does give you small twists and surprises time and again, but there is nothing totally unpredictable that happens.
Towards the end of the book however, there is some level of spiritual realization and explanation provided, which in a way reminded me of the Dan Brown way of ending books. Where in one is expected to ponder over the bigger truths of life, good vs evil, the definition of evil, the path to happiness etc.

That being said, the book holds your attention throughout. Though the speculation of what could happen next is not as much, reading through what does is interesting in itself.

My only grouse with the book however is the way it ends. We know it is the first of a trilogy, and that it has a sequel on the way. But I somehow don’t think that justifies ending the book abruptly in the midst of a scene. A chapter yes, when the intention is to return in a couple of chapters to continue. But making the reader wait to know what happens next, till the next book is printed, is not my idea of a good ending. Infact, I would rant a bit more about that, but perhaps the fact that I have the second book in hand is stopping me from doing it!

Overall, the genre is similar to the kind I read and reviewed last, so if you’re into historical fiction, give it a go. This book for one will not take you long to sail through, considering the easy English and narration style. Oh, and don’t forget to keep part 2 ready if you are the impatient kind!

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at  BlogAdda.com. Participate now to get free books!

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

36 thoughts on “The Immortals of Meluha – Book Review”

  1. clap clap
    clap clap

    I put them in two lines as you said Double them 🙂

    Where do i get this in uk and blogadda wroteto me saying they only send in india .. Now i need a address in india and then repost to me here 😦

    I have head a lot on this book … will get it for sure

    1. Uh Oh,that might be a little too much trouble right?
      The book is worth a read, especially since it doesn’t take too much time and effort to finish! 🙂 Let me know what you think of it!

  2. Wow! you are like the millionth person in the blogosphere to recommend this book..Nuttie wrote about it as well (she wrote about the sequel) and then asked me to read this one first…waiting to get my hands on it..

    Thanks for the reco

  3. *Double applause*

    I am yet to post the review 😛 But I only re-read it this time. From my first read, I cud agree with u on most points, esp. the ending part 🙂

  4. applause!

    I liked the concept but not the execution! What’s with Shiva using random modern words like “shit”? 😀 (I think I even blogged about it. Wouldn’t mind reading the next one, though 🙂

    1. Thanks! 😀
      Hmm, and you do have a point! But I guess the author made it a point to use vocab from the present to make it a breezy read. A lot of statements if you think would be slightly out of place in the said time period otherwise. Just started part 2!

  5. Amazing Book.. The Second one “The curse of the Nagas” is Equally Good.. Cant wait for the Third – “The flight of the Vayuputras”..

    Re-writing Indian Mythology and the like..

    1. I just started Secret of the Nagas, and it is good, you’re right!
      The fact that these books somehow generate so much interest in Indian Mythology, with their little references to the well established stories from the past, make them sound so authentic!

    1. I would recommend reading 1 for sure. The book 2 has faint references to book 1’s happenings, but the characters have been all built in 1, so kinda is a prerequisite of sorts 😀 Let me know your thoughts too!

    1. 😀 heard you reviewed it already? Blogadda sent me both, so yay! I am already a fourth through it and it seems as fast paced 😀 Will post the views soon!

  6. Seems like you take your blogging seriously 🙂 I would never have made so much of an effort to get my entry up.
    The sequel Naga is pretty similar, however, I still can’t get over the mismatch between the language and the period and context.

    1. Hmm, actually it was a commitment, putting up the review on time 🙂 Had to stick to it!
      Started reading Nagas. Your point is apt, but somehow, like I mentioned, the language made the book easier for me to digest, have a feeling that any bigger words would have made it a tougher read?

  7. I just started reading this book and I felt the language was quite bad at places – the expression is not upto the mark but my overall reaction was lile Wooowww 🙂 story holds and makes me want to read – I hope I carry on reading just for that

    1. Hello! I am getting this comment about the kind of language used from a lot of people! Perhaps I need to pay a little more attention to that aspect in the next book 🙂 The story keeps you bound , though!

  8. *Applause* 🙂

    I am definitely buying this! I bought your last recommendation to thanks to the flurry of blogposts on it. But never got the time to read it! I think I’ll just collect books for the time being and read them all at one go in November. 😛

  9. Hehe! 😀 Life still as busy huh? You have time off in November? Good good! i am sure you will have an interesting post on the summers update as well!

    1. Glad the review helped, I have tried to put into words exactly how I felt about the story! Let me know once you read it, as to what extent you agree with it!

  10. I am always a fan of Lord Shiva. So when I saw a book with Shiva as a core subject, I wanted to read this book. To appreciate the author “Amish” for his knowledge and interest in ancient India(Bharath), I bought this book instead of borrowing it from friends.

    The way the author depicts the Ram Raajya (Lord Shri Ram’s Kingdom), is awe-inspiring. His way of taking the subject – Shiva from a normal human being into a super man is very interesting. I truly salute the author. But the author states several untrue facts in this book, which he claims as the Indian History or Ram Raajya.

    > First thing, the author claims that Sati (Parvati) is a widow is unacceptable.
    > Secondly, the author takes the story to a point where the Shiva marries the Sati who is a widow. How the Mahadeva in the name of Holy-lake would marry a widow?

    As per Indian history there is no concept of Widow re-marriage. When a man dies, there was an audacious practice of firing the Wife of the husband along with his body.
    With his immense knowledge on Indian history and Ram Raajya, I wonder, how the author dared to depict Sati Devi as a Widow and Lord Shiva getting married to a Widowed Sati!
    I don’t understand onething. Indians/Hindus, they emerge together to fight against when Government or Terrorists try to cause any damage to the Lord Ram’s name. But now they are keeping their mouths shut allowing this kind of book to be published across the world, where the author understate the Lord Shiva’s honor.
    I believe this act should be questioned.

    1. I for one, have very limited information about all this. What I feel is that no where does he make a reference to this SHiva being the Lord we worship though thats what he is coming to. I read this as a piece of fiction which entwines mythological facts into it in a very smooth way!

    2. In India the practise of Sati is when a widwo jumps into her dead husband’s pyre. Using this concept, I think Amish has created the character of Sati as a widow and the mother of Ganesh. This book is just an interpretation of the mythology and not the actual representation. I read somewhere that widow remarriage is mentioned even in the Yajurveda, so it is not that such concepts were not there in our ancient times. For eg: the Upanayanam, the wearing of the sacred thread, a ceremony that is done only for the boys today was once upon time done for girls as well!!! So we need to look into our holy books not just superficially but dig deeper and find new meaning to it.

      1. My thoughts too, the point that this is merely a fictional recreation of the original mythological characters, and not the characters themselves. In any case, I am not an expert in anyway about the matter, so will refrain from commenting further. I read the book by itself, and I thought the amalgamation of fiction with mythology was done beautifully.

  11. Good review. The cycle of destruction continues, Shiva Hypothesis – http://clarkprasad.com/2012/01/01/dec-21-2012-shiva-hypothesis-and-nasa-secret-knowledge/

    You may also like my science fiction thriller – Baramulla Bomber, – Quantum Physics Meets Ancient Vedas in background of Kashmir and Cricket

    The book fbpage – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Baramulla-Bomber/134048753296487?sk=info#!/pages/Baramulla-Bomber/134048753296487?sk=info

    Hope you can review it when it releases. I am also looking for bloggers who can review Baramulla BOMBER. Free copy to be provided. Please do mail back if you are interested. My email – surajprasadk@gmail.com
    Thanks for reading 🙂

    1. Hey Suraj! Thanks for dropping by. I would love to read and review Baramulla Bomber, please keep me updated on it’s release! Are you planning to coordinate with Blogadda to get prospective reviewers?
      As of now, the theme seems way too exciting to miss out on! All the best!

Leave a Reply

