Looking back and moving on!

Aditto tagged me, after asking me if I would want to do a 2012 round-up post. I said yes. Even though it meant breaking my “No new Post until the last one has 20 comments” rule. Yep, I have a ridiculous rule like that. And no, I do not define what the 20 comments can or cannot include. I do mark the “Man killed because of flesh eating bacteria” sort of spam comments though, so they don’t count (I get a minimum of 2-3 per post of these, does anyone else? I am getting worried now). Everything else does, even my responses to comments which might be just a grinning emoticon.

But it’s not easy you know. Getting 20 comments on a post? If you say “Yes, it is” I’ll be very angry with you. Even if you say it anonymously, because I know who you are, you super-popular blogging people who get 20 comments within the first 5 minutes of hitting publish. Yes, I am talking to you. You know who you are! *wags accusatory finger, the index finger*.

On top of it, I saw that whole Annual report thing that those WordPress monkeys make for you. I also just typed “monkeys” as “monkies” and it got highlighted as a spelling error. It says I wrote 26 posts in 2012. I think that is an achievement and then I saw people lament about writing “only” three or four times as many posts, so I decided to shut up. I also realised that if I keep having 20 comment rule, I will write maybe 2 posts in 2013. Then I told myself in my head that I do not get to complain about hardly any comments these days because I have been ridiculously lazy at commenting myself. So I decided to break my awesome rule. To make myself feel better,  I saw I had 28000 visitors in 2012, so I did some simple math, and came to the conclusion that this meant 1000+ views per post. So fine if you don’t want to talk to me, atleast you were here. And since you are here, let me bore you some more. Ok? Ok.

Now for the tag. Yes, that’s the main post, so even if you’re exhausted reading the post till now, too bad, you are expected to go on anyway. Please?

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before? Grew up. No really. Apparently what 7 years of corporate life, and 5 years of marriage could not do to me, little Zo did, just like that. So one day I am lying on my lazy ass staring at the TV thinking bah, it’s only 10 PM, what do I watch next, and the next, I am only thinking of when I will watch TV next without doing something simultaneously. That next day was the whole of 2012. Really.

2. Did you keep your new years resolutions, and will you make more for next? Yes Yes. Let me think. I lost weight, my retrospective resolution I came up with in the last week of December (refer last post for meaning).  And, I survived as a mom. This was a toughie, and is a semi-retrospective resolution I decided upon mid-way through the year.

3. What date from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why? I don’t know, these days the only dates that matter are Zo’s vaccination dates. 

4. What was your biggest achievement of the year? I can now live with 6-7 hours of sleep (with multiple breaks in between)! A life changing realisation, and my biggest achievement of 2012. Even weight loss comes second to this.

5. What was your biggest failure? What failure? No failure. Failure is just the pathway to success. By the way, I might quote this as my retrospective resolution at the end of 2013, this whole positive thinking thing, not this obnoxious cliched self help statement quoting thing.

6. Did you suffer illness? No, thankfully. After a whole year of being called a “patient” at each Gynae visit in 2011 (what IS with that really!), 2012 was good to me. Touchwood.

7. Whose behaviour made you appalled and depressed? Thin people, “behaving” all thin,, and other mommies telling me how their baby “sleeps ALL through the night, and naps all the time  and needs to be woken up even for food”. Sob. That sob was brought to you by the latter category.

8. Where did most of your money go? Diapers. HAHAHAHA. Ok, no seriously, those things just vanish! Otherwise shopping for different sizes of clothes through the year. From Medium, to Large, to Medium to Small. Heh. That was fun. Oh wait, it still is.

9. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Oh that one day when Zo slep for 8 hours straight! Ok, I’m being mean now. But frankly, 2012 was all about “annoying-parent-syndrome”.  I was constantly on the “Oh my baby is so clever she pooped on time” mode. So there was a lot of excitement, you don’t want to know all of it.

10. What song will always remind you of 2012? Gummy bear – the first song Zo recognised. Chikni Chameli – Because she sleeps to me humming the interlude to that. The title track of Two and a half men – Because Zo says “oooh” when the song goes “ooo”. And Hookah bar, because I love it.

11. Compared to this time last year, are you happier or sadder? Last year at this time I was worried. Happy but worried about how things would pan out. This year, I am a little more confident of handling life (by which I mean Zo, because life otherwise is so, seriously, simple) and by that equation, happier too.

12. What do you wish you’d done more of? Does you’d stand only for ‘you had’? Or can it be used for ‘you could’ also? Because I wish I “could” have slept more. Though I can’t say I wish I “had” slept more because trust me, that was impossible. Also, reading, writing, playing with Zo, and changing the world.

13. What do you wish you’d done less of? Worrying. But that’s not a 2012 thing, that’s just me.

14. Did you fall in love in 2012? Oh yes. Multiple times. With gummy smiles, and impromptu hugs, and “Awwooaa” kissies. 2012 was all about falling in love over and over again.

15. What/Who was your greatest musical discovery? Harmonies. If you have a group of people sing the same song at different chords, it can sound heavenly if done right. See, that was so technical right? Also, there is no H chord.

16. What did you want and get? Are the two related? Because I want a lot of things ok. Like a BMW, and a vacation in Antarctica, and to be able to eat all the chocolate I want without gaining an ounce. What I got however was a status quo on all the other already awesome things in my life. So yay.

17. What did you want and not get? What is this now? Ok, I did not get my BMW, or my Antarctic vacation, and I also had to work for getting thin. Bah. Rub it in now.

18. What was your favourite film of this year? My favorite film for this year is any film I watched because Oh My God I hardly watched films in Multiplexes. Ok, cynicism apart, I liked “Talaash”, because I am an Aamir fangirl, and also “The Dark Knight Rises”, because commercial films  with happy endings are nice. Just saying.

19. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? I turned 30. That’s what I did. Oh, and to celebrate that I went on a birthday week vacation, which was awesome.

20. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? If I did not have to strike out reading as a hobby from my list, I would have been a happier girl. And one who reads at that.

21. What kept you sane? The basic truth that at the end of it all, I actually have it all. That. was. so. deep. Touch the freaking wood man.

22. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2012. Sleep less. And also, you cannot eat  chocolate and be thin, so stop saying “Oh but working out doesn’t help me!” while holding a half eaten Bournville.

23. Which new places did you visit in 2012? Mauritius, Mysore, Coorg and Bidar . Oh,  Weil am Rhein in Germany, and Alsace in France. The latter within 2 hours because I went for work to awesome (NOT) Basel and it shares borders with the two countries.

24. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year –  This.
Yep, I wanted to be Everything at once. Do Everything at once too. Still want.

25. Tag some bloggers you would love to read these answers from.

Smartassbride – We want Proton, we want Proton, Subbu – Some cynicism, some sarcasm and a lot of wisdom at 23 , Preeks – Wake up call maybe? and Nu – For the feel-good factor. Take it up girls, the floor is yours.

And with that I can officially bid adieu to 2012. For me, it was a great year. Hope 2013 beats it at that.

32 thoughts on “Looking back and moving on!

  1. So you answered a question that was in my mind for a while – How many hits does your blog get? 🙂 You have a freaking awesome comments to hits ratio!! 😀

    I barely get a few comments… but that number is going up 🙂 yey!

    Diapers? Are they so expensive? :O Mamy poko pants!

    • DI says:

      🙂 Yep, that many! I think it has dwindled between this year and last, but you can’t blame people for giving up on the same ol’!
      I already mentioned in person, but there was a time when I had hajjar comments! Phew! Used to love it. But then, even I was not lazy and used to leave comments on other blogs 🙂 It’s a reciprocative deal!
      Diapers are not that bad, just that there is a lot of usage, and somehow, you seem to be spending a K on them every week :|! Time will tell, wait and watch!

  2. oh I am going to do this tomorrow for my blogging marathon *hits self on the head for accepting the marathon..week days are easy to blog, weekends can be terrifying*

    LOL on diapers..yes they are expensive…I did a little jig the day I realised R was out of diapers for about 2 months heheheh 🙂 we still have some M diapers at home 🙂

    and oh losing weight…both you and Aditto have achieved the impossible eh?

    you didnt see English Vinglish?

    Awww on your falling in love ..I loved that answer

    you went to Europe!!! Wow! thats amazing…was it work related or did Zo go with you as well?

    Happy 2013

    PS – I love your blog..and I comment on every post (almost) do I get a special gummy smile for Zo for that?

    • DI says:

      Louly! While I respond you must have already done it, so will go and check! You’re right about weekend blogging though, never found that easy!
      Hehehe, that day is a little far, I need to take up charge and train the lil one 🙂
      Yes yes, we did! We frequently exchange notes too 🙂 2012 was the weight loss year!
      I did see English Vinglish and found it very nice, but I did not fall in love with the movie somehow. First thing, it didn’t make me cry which is BIG. I thought some bits were overdone, but she acted superbly! And loved the way the story was told, very very real 🙂
      What would you say if I tell you it is the same place in Europe again and gain. Bah. Not that cool also. 😦
      Thanks you RM! Zo is giving you her fave two teethed smile right now 😉

  3. Awww I luv the answer for 21.
    And I almost thought of doing this for marathon today, but it is just too long and I can’t cook up so many answers. U have done a great job of it and so kudos to u 😀

    • DI says:

      🙂 I know man, it feels nice to acknowledge the niceness sometimes! 🙂
      Hahah, I don’t do marathons! I do a post every fortnight looks like 😐 so it’s easier for me!

  4. I have a qn…are all mothers like this or is there some real connection between us? 🙂 I swear 90% of your answers were what I had in 2012 and the rest what I am going to see in 2013 🙂

    Loved the post..

    • DI says:

      😀 You never know! I am glad you feel the same way 🙂 It might be a mommy thing though, as I keep hearing from mommies!
      Enjoy, 2013 will be a lot more adventure!
      Thanks! And take it up, it’s fun to reflect!

  5. Haha! Okay, fine! Go ahead. Say it to me. Yes, you were talking to me, weren’t you? 😛 I, who wrote 76 posts and was disappointed with myself for not having written more? That is almost 3 times the number of posts that you wrote. Or are you saying there were more like me?

    I don’t think I am programmed to be happy with what I have done. Especially if my performance falls. Last year, I wrote more. This year, I would’ve expected myself to do better. Instead, I did worse. Obviously, we lament in such circumstances. 😛

    But this 20 comment rule is stupid! I never waited. 20 comments can take forever to come, at times. ESPECIALLY if you haven’t been commenting on other blogs. It is like that. The comments never determine the number of readers. If you ‘mark your presence’ in the form of a comment on other blogs, they will do the same. Mostly. It is stupid. But that’s really how it works 😐

    Looks like 2012 was a great year for you. It had to be, with Zo around.

    • DI says:

      Hahaha, it was you who I read just before writing the post 😛

      I agree, our performances should be relative to our last performance, but in your defense you were undergoing way too many changes and new things this year!
      My 20 comment rule IS stupid 😐 Thanks for re-emphasising it. I think sometimes I end up writing for the readers, and I miss out on so much I can write for myself! I will change that this year 🙂 I have also come to the same conclusion about readers vs comments though, not related!
      2012 was awesome, the first full year as a mom, it has been very good to me. Touchwood.
      All the best for 2013!

  6. subbulakshmistoned says:

    Sarcasm and cynicism? That’s what the world thinks of a cheerful, happy-go-lucky, bubbly, girl- next- door? Sob.
    Thanks for tagging me DI. No one has done that in years.
    Zo was the star of 2012. 2013 will be even awesome because she will start talking full time. Hehe.
    Happy 2013 to the DI family!

    • DI says:

      😐 Those were compliments. Please don’t cry. Please. Oh, or wait, is that a sarcastic sob ;)?
      Yeah, now go do the tag, like I said, I need to laugh a bit. Zo has been the star of 2012 alright, sigh, and will continue to be so for a while. Till she starts reading and is like “Stop embarrassing me!” 😛
      Danke! Happy 2013 to you too, get us more tales from NewYork nagaram!

  7. Thanks for the tag! Will definitely take the cue and write, considering I have ample free time now! 🙂
    And I commented on all your posts..I am a good girl! 😀
    I cant even imagine how much more entertaining such posts from you will get when Zo starts talking full time! 🙂

  8. How did i manage to miss this post .. and you did not tell me too 😦

    you visited a lot of place in last year .. I dont think i went anywhere other than india ..

    and answer to 21 is the best one 🙂 we sure keep looking at more and forget what we already have ..

    • DI says:

      🙂 now you won’t, hopefully! Honestly, it’s true. Very often we forgt the good and complain about the bads! You live in UK Bikji, so much to see around!

  9. Number of visitors, comments, posts..I am glad to say Bugz cured me of it all including the time and energy to write. Now I have none to even think blog.

    The one thing that stood out in this post is Zo because that is what this post was all about. They have a way of changing your entire world don’t they? Hope 2013 bring about even more beautiful Zo moments for you. 🙂

    • DI says:

      I am sure, one kid and I do not have breathing space, two, even imagining makes me super tired! 😀
      And you know, I tried hard to not make it too Zo, but that was tough, actually doing that would be plain lying! 2012 was Zo’s year!

  10. Sammy says:

    Maybe some people visit so these nauseating posts, tweets and updates prevent them from being addicted to social media and to internet.

  11. I too had a rule for the number of comments before the next post but had to ditch it in past year as both my blogging and readers’ commenting went down. 😦

Leave a Reply

