Day 14 – And I’m on my knees, looking for the answers

So after I wrote that close to pathetic post last night, which was supposed to be a sort of discourse on the music on M Tunes HD but turned into a channel surfing guide, I read this post by Bingo’s mom. This lady, I believe deserves an award for strategically phased posts, and also for providing some of us the much needed relief of not needing to think about what to write.  So I am taking it up. Thank you BM, you’re a life saver.

What are you wearing?
Grey pinstriped Van Heusen trousers, along with a lighter grey and blue striped knit top from Shopper’s Stop. I also have my tallest wedges on – these are from Catwalk and are blue – to go with the blue stripes on my top. In addition to this I am also wearing my black Fitness Band (Jawbone UP2) – I got this band in May and it broke so I wrote to the folks and they sent me a replacement which didn’t arrive. So I wrote again and they sent one again, and in the end both reached by December. So I have two now, and one is being used by The Dude. I love it when such things happen. In terms of accessories, I’m wearing two rings on my left hand’s ring finger – one that The Dude gave me in December 2006 in the basement of the Lifestyle store, and the other that he got me in December 2014 because I wanted a solitaire. That should be enough information for the question asked. Perhaps I should have made it into a post in itself.

How tall are you? 
I am 5’3 and always in heels so you will never realize it. Hah.

How much do you weigh?
A lot; actually, 5 kilos more than I would want to weigh.

Any tattoos?
No. So last year, I pretty much decided to get a tattoo and even decided on a design. But turns out I am too lazy to actually go and get it done. So no, I don’t have a tattoo and my interest in one is fading away.

Any piercings?
My ears are pierced and I cannot imagine getting any more peircings! On that note, I finally got Zo’s ears pierced 2 weeks ago. It was quite late, she is over 4, and everyone said I should have done it earlier when she didn’t realize. But The Dude was adamant that we wait until she wants it and not put her through pain just because it’s the usual norm. So we actually waited for her to ask, and she did. Then we told her it would hurt, and got her totally prepared and the day we got it done, all she said was ‘Will you be with me when it hurts?’ and the thought of it still makes me cry. Yes, it hurt, she cried for 2 minutes, and then she was happy about how pretty her ears look. She is the bravest kid in the world and I am tearing up again.

Favourite show?
The Dude and I are show junkies – we watch SO many shows, it is disgustingly awesome. Our current favorite is Fresh off the boat, and a regular favorite is Modern Family. Ooh, also Parks and Recreation! We used to love F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Non-comedy, we loved Breaking Bad and love How to get away with Murder now. On a side, I (not we) used to love Grey’s Anatomy till they killed almost everyone who mattered and now I am bored.

Something you miss?
Life sans responsibilities.

Favourite song?
Does such a thing exist? I have realized however that I have a special place for songs that I can relate with memories or scenes in movies and shows that I love. A current favorite was Space Oddity by David Bowie, and I was quite sad when the news of his passing away came along a few days ago. It is a lovely song, made even more awesome when listened to in context of the movie I heard it in – The Secret life of Water Mitty.

Zodiac sign?
Sagittarius – though I feel I have a bit of a Scorpion in me, since I was born on the crossover date.

Quality you look for in a partner?
Intelligence, wit and humor, and the ability to carry on conversations. I remember reading somewhere that one should always choose a partner you can talk to at length, because years later, conversations are all you would be left with.

Favourite actor?
In terms of good looks I would go with Chris Hemsworth at the moment. Though I like Mark Ruffallo and his movies a lot. Tom Hanks is an all time favorite; he can make any movie awesome. In India, Irrfan Khan can really act, and no one looks nicer than Arjun Rampal even now.

Favourite colour?
Red and Orange.

Loud music or soft?
Are we talking of the volume? Because I love even the softest of songs at a very high volume, preferably on my earphones so I can listen to every word, every strum, and every beat.

Where do you go when you’re sad?
If I am sad at home, I go to The Dude. If The Dude has made me sad I go to Zo. If Zo is too busy for a hug or a cuddle I go to the balcony. If I am sad at work I go to the washroom and lock myself up in one of the stalls (true story). Or I sit at my desk and play loud music in my ears and refuse to look at anyone.

How long does it take you to shower?
5 minutes on regular days, and 10 when I am washing my hair – but this is since I chopped off my hair. It used to take me half hour to wash my hair till last month. Did I mention that I cut off my waist length straightened hair into a short curly bob last month? No? Ok, now I have.

How long does it take you to get ready in the morning?
45 minutes including lazing time, staring at my face, hair, cribbing that I don’t want to go to work, choosing clothes, picking grey hair etc.

Ever been in a physical fight?
I have pinched my sister I think when I was younger. I have punched The Dude when I have been mad at him – but is it a fight if there’s no reciprocation?

Turn on? 
An overall well kempt look, wit and intelligence.

Turn off?
Loudness, clinginess, and messiness

Fears?
Losing those who matter.

Last thing that made you cry?
Has to be a random movie or show. I cry at the drop of a hat, hence I myself don’t my crying seriously enough. If I think about serious crying it has to be The Dude and Zo who annoyed me till I cried on New year’s day, especially when I am particular about having a good 1st January to set tone for the year. Talk about mean!

Last time you said you loved someone?
Morning, before leaving for work.

Last book you read?
The Bestseller she wrote by Ravi Subramanian – for the review here. And My Crazy Pet frog for Zo.

The book you’re currently reading?
Murakami’s Kafka on the shore. I have been pathetically slow but I blame this blogathon for that.

Last person you talked to?
One of my team members. We discussed at length about how important travelling is and how it is economical if we plan well in advance.

The relationship between you and the person you last texted?
An ex-team member.

Place you want to visit?
This should tell you more.

Do you have a crush?
Not really – I mean there are folks who are cute but crushing on them is passé.

Favourite piece of jewellery?
My Solitaire for everyday wear. And I have a thing for massive jhumkas these days!

Last song you sang?
Roshni se, bhare bhare from Asoka. I sang this to make Zo sleep last night.

With that, I close the post and urge you all to take it up if you are out of ideas. I am now going to sit and think of a song to go for it’s title. Sigh, life can be tough.

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

6 thoughts on “Day 14 – And I’m on my knees, looking for the answers”

  1. Hahaa! Awesome. Keeping this for the rainy days!

    In fact, I think I’ll split it up into two posts! Two rainy days covered.

    Totally love all the shows you’re watching. How to get away and modern family are reigning favorites! And thank god, I’m not the only one who is giving up reading for this blogathon!

  2. The way you got two bands, I got two Kindle covers 😀 I was so happy by Amazon’s oversight!

    Kafka on the shore is my next.

    You sing songs to put Zo to sleep? How sweet! I am imagining you singing that song with Zo sleeping.

    Zo’s piercing – did you get it from a doctor or a jeweller? They took my niece for piercing and she threw such a fit, they had to come back.

    1. I love free stuff 😀. I do sing to her, every night. Songs range from Frozen to hanuman chalisa to Bollywood hits! She is used to it now.
      Got Zo’s ears pierced at a jewellers – she was a rockstar. It must have hurt like a bitch 😞

  3. This tag is super cool & shares so much insight into who the person is beyond being a fabulous blogger 🙂
    Hugs to Zo for being a brave girl & having her ears pierced.

    Talking about reading, I am stuck between reading books & the downpour of posts in my feed because so many of the blogs I read are doing the blogathon.
    Murakami’s books are on my to-read list too.

    I share a lot of similarities with you but the one I loved most are grey pinstripes ( I have a thing for pinstripes and formal trousers <3)
    Maybe, I will take up this tag 😀

    1. I agree! Tags tell a lot 🙂 especially since I love going on and on!
      I have been reading all the blogs too, keeps you super tied up.
      I love formal clothes! My company allows business casuals but I do formals most of the time 😀👍🏽

Leave a Reply

