Day 1 – Getting started

Of late, my life seems to be increasingly dominated by a phenomena, which by definition is not even applicable to my generation. And the more I consider myself to be above or beyond it, the more it seems to prove me wrong by making itself felt in a slightly more customized manner, one more befitting my age and stage in life.

FOMO, or the Fear Of Missing Out – I strongly believed was something governing only the lives of the teens and tweens today. A lot has been written about it, and a lot is discussed. How they don’t live in the moment, how they are forever doing a relativity analysis against the lives of their peers, and how social media is adding fuel to fire by making everything look even rosier with the Instagram filters.

But turns out, it’s not an age thing. It’s a life thing. And this, whenΒ you are supposed to be all settled and content in your 30s – what with that cushy job, and that beautiful house, that car, the wonderful spouse, that adorable baby, those exotic vacations, all that eating – the perfect life. So what else would you want? Or what exactly do you think you could be missing out on?

The answer is the little things that make up all these big things that your life is made of. There is just so much everyone seems to be doing all the time. And very conveniently, we look at all things collectively – like look at these people doing all these awesome stuff while we are managing so little with our time! So let’s do some more. And then when you do it, you have a chocobloc day/week/weekend, with not a moment to spare.

Let me give an example. The diwali weekend was supposed to be simple – clean up, do a rangoli, visit parents, visit some friends and done. But did you know that a colored rangoli takes 2 hours and a calloused finger to make? Did you know that if you decide to deck up in traditional wear and do the same for your daughter, it would take forever? No. So by the time the weekend was done, all things planned were ticked, but I was exhausted.

Which led the screw up of the week. I somehow missed reading the note on Zo’s diary, that we were supposed to send the kids in black/Halloween costumes to school on Monday. In fact, I did not realise till the Dude dropped her to the bus, and the few kids that did not bunk school were in costumes. My baby went in her school uniform. And when the Dude told me this, it pretty much ruined my entire day. Because 1) Bad mom 2)FOMO. I had missed out on my kid celebrating Halloween and the whole day I whined about how upset she was going to be.

When I picked her up in the evening however, she grinned and said “You forgot my costume!” I was pretty teary eyed and was cursing myself, when she said “My teacher put on the clothes you packed for daycare. You sent the shirt with the castle and the unicorn. So I was a story book for Halloween!” And she said this with just as much enthusiasm as she would have had if I had bought her an elaborate princess gown. Trust her to be the sensible one among us.

So basically, there went my theory about FOMO being an age thing. It’s a person thing. And unfortunately, it’s my thing too. Which would explain why – despite November being a crazy week with travel and client visits and other things to do, I decided on participating in this month long challenge anyway. I could not, for the world, miss out on something my entire blogging gang of yore was part of. So here I am with my first post.

Only 29 more to go.

Author: The Girl in Blue Jeans

Eh, seriously, what would you know from here that you wouldn't from the blog. Go back. Read!

31 thoughts on “Day 1 – Getting started”

    1. Oh God! I mean here I am, struggling to be the good mom and thinking even if I was a little hyper, maybe the kid’s learning from me. And bam! I have the sane maasi jumping in for credit!
      P.S. I would still give it to you though πŸ˜‰

  1. Trust kids to surprise us in the most unexpected ways. Zo is a star in the making πŸ™‚
    So glad to connect with you for NaBloPoMo. I joined in just minutes before the clock struck 12, so yeah, am glad too that only 29 more to go.

  2. I think FOMO is an age thing, and adults suffer from it, not kids (as Zo showed). Witnessed a similar thing in Mimi’s kindergarten. On dress-up days there are always some kids in uniform (probably their parents forgot). One of the other mothers commented that it’s so sad that the kids aren’t in costume and how can their parents forget. But the kids themselves don’t be very perturbed, and anyway I think the school has some extras that they dress the uniformed kids in if they wish.

    1. True! The school does make up for it and it definitely makes them feel like a part of the thing they are doing anyway. Kids are quite chilled out. About FOMO, I just felt that it shouldn’t really impact folks who pretty much have seen quite a lot of life – but it does! Which makes it worse. But then who says adult life is good. πŸ™‚

  3. Dude, the exact same thing happened here..I missed reading Bandar’s newsletter regarding her Halloween parade on Monday morning. She went in her regular school clothes, no uniform here, but all the kids were in their costumes but her. She walked the parade as herself , I thank her awesome teacher for telling her she was perfect as herself . I however felt v little mommy guilt on this one – even when the husband choose to ring me in the middle of a meeting to tell me I had messed this one up. Not sure why. Yes screw ups happen

    1. Hahaha! the dude made the same point – about dealing with disappointment and character building and all. I on the other hand was a guilty as hell! Eeep!
      But true, for the kids things are as important as the people around make them to be – which is why teachers make so much difference! πŸ™‚

  4. Am glad you’re in…waiting to read more on the sensible little one πŸ˜€
    Daughters are the best, I tell you…they just know to make you smile…big hugs!

  5. I love Zo! She is indeed the sensible and sane one of the lot! And now I know why my reader suddenly went kaboooonnn when I opened it after ages. All the blogger I used to read are back. Now I need to find time to read you all. Let’s do this πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

